Awesome blog…

Inside Megan's Brain...

Why do I get openly frustrated with my students when I adore them?  A human response I know, but I hate it.

I hate that I sometimes respond to my kids out of a sense of emotional frustration.  I know they are teenagers who are figuring out who they are, and part of that is testing boundaries.  Another huge part of their behaviour is simply not thinking.  They (as did I at their age) act without thinking about how their actions affect others, or that what they do could possibly be inappropriate.  How do I counteract that?  I can’t figure out how to draw out their potential.  Well, sometimes I can, but sometimes I feel lost, hence the frustration.  Some students respond to positive suggestions, some just don’t get it.  It’s not that they are bad kids, they just can’t see that their behaviour actually matters in the long run…

View original post 120 more words

Leave a Reply

